Argentina- First Week in Cordoba! -Cara

Being silly with new friends at orientation week in downtown Cordoba.

Being silly with new friends at orientation week in downtown Cordoba.

The first days were definitely harder than I thought they would be. Once we got busy and started to tour Córdoba it got a lot easier! I love the city and the people in it. They are all very welcoming and so nice! It was a little weird for me at first to be welcomed with a kiss on the cheek because we don’t do much of that back in the states but now I love it! Even complete strangers will welcome you into their home which is very comforting! I do have my days though where I miss my friends and family back home, but I know I will get to see those people again. The people I meet here I might never see again so I know that I have to make the most of my time here!

I am hanging out with my host sister and her friends a lot which is nice because that way we get to know each other a little better! I have one host sister and a host mom and they are both really comforting.

Meeting and greeting my host family for the first time.

Meeting and greeting my host family for the first time.

They said that I can talk to them if I’m ever missing home and that I should feel at home here. I don’t start school till March 5th. I am a little for that just because I will be the new kid and feel very overwhelmed because of the language. I know however, that the language will start to come easier for me and after a month or so it will be much easier. I have been here for two weeks now and am looking forward to the next four and a half months that I have ahead of me!

About Laura iE-USA

I direct the study abroad programs for iE-USA and have studied abroad in Argentina and Spain. I have a passion for travel and language immersion.

Posted on February 27, 2014, in Argentina, Study abroad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

