Last month in Germany :( – Claire

Germanyclaire

I’ve learned so much by being in Germany for the past few months.  Unfortunately, I can only stay for 5 months and not 10.  I would jump at the chance to extend my time here, but with school and graduation in a few months, it works out better to just stay a semester.  When I came, I could only put together a few sentences and had almost no knowledge of the grammar.  With the immeasurable patience of my host family (especially host mom), I’ve made incredible progress in German.  I’ve learned so much just by helping my host mom cook and asking questions about the language and when, what, and why people say certain things.

I’ve really become part of culture here.  I’m on a soccer team and in a choir.  I’ve snowboarded in the French Alps. I’ve made numerous friends, and I’m glad to say I also have a new German family.

I strongly recommend studying abroad, and, of course, choosing Germany.  I won’t lie and say it’s always the easiest, but it is certainly 100% worth it.  No doubt.

About Laura iE-USA

I direct the study abroad programs for iE-USA and have studied abroad in Argentina and Spain. I have a passion for travel and language immersion.

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Germany, Study abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

